Scholarships Awarded in 2017

The St. Joseph Area Dollars for Scholars, located in St. Joseph, Minnesota, awarded their 2017 scholarships to 24 local area students. Many of the scholarships were sponsored by local businesses and others were funded by an endowment and fundraising activities like the phone-a-thon.


Scholarship Awards Night - May 10th, 2017 at  Sentry Bank in St. Joseph.

2017 - Scholarship Winners

Photo by Cori Hilsgen of The Newsleader

(left to right) Sarah Schroden, Josh Maricle-Roberts, Cole Pfannenstein, Ali Ophoven, Taylor Nydeen, Clare Pfannenstein and Kaylie Lawwell


2017 Scholarship Winners

Photo by Cori Hilsgen of The Newsleader

(left to right) Shannon Ostendorf, Michael Maleska, Katie Ringhand, Rilee O'Hara and Mackenzie Huesers


Congratulations all scholarship recipients (in alphabetical order) and thank you scholarship sponsors!

  • Justin Barg (Newsleader)
  • Emily Boysen (St. Joseph Lions)
  • Marisa Gaetz (St. Joseph Jaycees)
  • Madeline Haeg (Dollars for Scholars phone-a-thon)
  • Thomas Hawkins (Michael Contardo, DDS/Laser Dentistry)
  • MacKenzie Huesers (Dollars for Scholars phone-a-thon)
  • Kaitlyn Johnson (Dr. Thomas Newton/Centracare Clinic)
  • Kaylie Lawwell (St. Joseph Fire Fighters)
  • Michael Maleska (Sunset Manufacturing)
  • Joshua Maricle-Roberts (Midcontinent Communications)
  • Peter Nelson (St. Joseph Lions)
  • Taylor Nydeen (St. Joseph Lions)
  • Rilee O'Hara (Mike Hazen Memorial Scholarship)
  • Alisha Ophoven (Dollars for Scholars phone-a-thon)
  • Shannon Osendorf (Dollars for Scholars phone-a-thon)
  • Jackson Pelzer (Pam's Auto)
  • Clare Pfannenstein (Sentry Bank)
  • Cole Pfannenstein (Iver Linneman/St. Joseph American Legion & Knights of Columbus)
  • Kathryn Ringhand (Steve Schirber)
  • Aidan Schiltz (Pam's Auto)
  • Adam Schleicher (Styles, Cotton & Millbert, DDS)
  • Sara Schroden (Dollars for Scholars phone-a-thon)
  • Meghan Wick (Dollars for Scholars phone-a-thon)
  • Kelsey Winter (Dollars for Scholars phone-a-thon)